Accidental Leak

wowbadge

And before I knew it, I had hit ‘Send’. The guy standing in front of me turned around with an expression of complete shock and horror. That look of his made me feel like the anger from his feisty eyes would burn right through me and I would crumble to ashes. He then turned around and kept staring at the screen.

 I gathered some courage and tapped on his shoulder and all hell broke loose.  With a finger pointing at me, like I am to blame for whatever wrong happened with him all through his life, he started screaming at me. Somehow I managed to drag him to the side of the road so that the others could stop staring and carry on with their work. I handed him a bottle of water and after gulping it down he said, “Do you realize what you have just done can put me into a whole lot of trouble, the consequences of which can be life altering.” It was my turn to look shocked. And that’s precisely what the expression on my face depicted.

 I looked at him and said, “Mr, I do not fathom what happened with you and how I am responsible for it, but if you think I am then, I am sorry.” Once again he started shouting and said you pushed me and my finger hit the send button on that EMS (Emergency Message Sending) machine. (This was the new machine put up on roads for those who needed to send emergency emails and messages.) I still couldn’t figure out what could possibly have gone so wrong with that. This time he dragged me along and sat me down on the corner of a walk way.

 He explained to me that he was using the EMS to send an important email to his senior. He said that the mail contained answers to an all Indian management entrance exam and were meant to be confidential. Due to some technical difficulties in the institute systems they had to be sent via EMS.  I started getting slightly worried and tried to comprehend the part which went wrong. This is when he said the recipients email address was set to students and he was supposed to change it.  Now I realized that though unknowingly and unintentionally within a matter of few seconds I had leaked the answers to a top level exam.

 All this only because I was walking in haste and before I knew it, I had hit ‘Send’ and given away a treasure to every student. I had given them just what they needed before a critical paper, Answers! The professor looked pale and white like a ghost albeit with a point % relief because I now understood the situation.

 This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda

2 thoughts on “Accidental Leak

Leave a Reply

