Combat of the Mind

161125-F-JG073-002
Image Source: http://www.15wing.af.mil/News/Commentaries/Article/792610/finish-the-fight-an-airmans-journey-through-army-combatives/

I thought it was out of my life
That ugly and mind sapping feeling of worthlessness
Had vanished
If not for good, at least it had gone
To a land far away, for like a vacation
But one day
Without any warning
It crawled its way back in
No knock!
No, “May I come in?”
Appeared like unwanted guests
Making me feel disoriented
Disturbing the allignment of positivity
My heart ached with a familiar emptiness
Creating a deep pit in my stomach
Mocking Me, even laughing at me
Like I am not good enough for anything
Taking over my self belief
Making me give up and give in
I know I have to fight it again
Fight the helplessness
Fight that treacherous rascal
That wore me down from within
I know I have to muscle past the lethargy
Rid my body of its poison
Because I am not okay
To give up control
My feelings and my mind are mine
And some trashy devious made up beings
Do not get to rule me,

Leave a comment